The Red Devils Achieve Their 7th Consecutive Title with a Huge Victory

Written by: Omar ElFar
Total comments: 0
 Al Ahly managed to achieve their 7th consecutive Egyptian Premier League Title by achieving a huge 5-1 victory over The Arab Contractors to increase the lead with Zamalek, the runner up, to 7 points one match before the end of the season.

The Military Stadium was filled with an enormous number of supporters who were eager to celebrate the Egyptian Premier League title number 36 for their favorite side Al Ahly.

The players performed brilliantly throughout the entire match in all lines; defensive and offensive especially for the midfield that controlled the game and gained possession.

Al Ahly’s players tried a lot to break the silence in the first half but the opposition’s keeper and defense were capable of keeping the clean sheet.

However, in the 19th minute Al Ahly’s gunner Motaz Eno cannoned one from distance which the keeper failed to grip and fell in front of Emad Meteb who was tripped by the goalkeeper inside the box and the referee signaled a penalty.

Wael Gomaa, the defensive rock, took the penalty brilliantly after fooling the keeper and putting it in the other side to give the Red Devils the lead in the 20th minute.

In the 29th minute, Mohamed Barakat managed to double the lead by breaking through from the right side and placing the ball towards the far post past the goalkeeper scoring Al Ahly’s second goal of the match.

In the 36th minute, Sherif Abdel Fadeel managed to increase the lead to three goals after receiving Ahmed Fathi’s corner kick cross with a great header that hit the target.

The first half ended with a three goal lead for the Red Devils over the already relegated side The Arab Contractors.

Just three minutes after the start of the second half, Mohamed Adel managed to decrease the lead to two goals again after diverting the corner kick cross into the target.

However, Al Ahly’s midfield managed to control the game again preventing any chances to decrease the lead further.

The best moment in the match came in the 61st minute where Mohamed Barakat received a wonderful through ball on the right side and crossed from one touch to Geddo whose positioning was great and jumped between two defenders to increase the lead again to 3 goals scoring Al Ahly’s fourth goal.

In the 91st minute, Hossam Ghaly managed to score the fifth goal from a strong shot that hit the keeper’s hand before sailing into the back of the net.

The referee gave the final whistle announcing the Red Devils as the champions of the Egyptian Premier League for the 7th consecutive time and the 36th time in the Egyptian football history.

Add your comment: (The website is not responsible by any way of the readers' comments, and the responsibility lies solely on the commenter)
Email (Won't be displayed)
The comment
Previous match 2012-07-22
Next Match